THE CREATIVE OASIS IN STIPSHAUSEN

The studio in the picturesque Hunsrück village of Stipshausen is home to Tom, Jutta and Bernd Munsteiner. Built in 1973, the studio has been an oasis of creativity ever since. Together with a small team of master gem cutters and goldsmiths, Tom and Jutta create new and exciting designs in stone and jewellery every day. Tourmaline, aquamarine, garnet, citrine, amethyst, rock crystal and many other minerals receive their very special, unique “Munsteiner cut” here. In the studios own goldsmith’s workshop, the Munsteiners create unique jewellery in Platinum, Yellow Gold and Silver, many of which have already been honored with multiple awards internationally. The combination of gemstone cutting, goldsmithing and exhibition rooms offer visitors a wonderful opportunity to gain a small insight into the creative process from the rough stone to the finished piece of jewellery.

JEWELLERY

MUNSTEINER FEELING

Bernd, Jutta and Tom Munsteiner

BERND MUNSTEINER

Bernd Munsteiner was the first contemporary artist to go off in search of the aura of the crystal. For more than forty years now, he has been turning transparent stones in particular into images, objets d’art and sculptures. They open up the magical landscapes inside the crystal to the viewer, extend his inner and outer visual areas into projection surfaces of the psychical.Through his work, Munsteiner links precious stone sculpture to the artistic debates of the 20th century without denying the archaic layers in the relationship of mankind to stone and precious stones in particular. By that very act, Munsteiner’s precious stone sculptures elude a representation culture oriented towards performative eventfulness as well as reception in passing. On the other hand, they project into our transient lifetime as monumental symbols of the eternal – in spite of their relatively small spatial volume.

more about Bernd Munsteiner

JUTTA MUNSTEINER

Although Jutta Munsteiner’s creative focus was initially on jewellery, the intensive collaboration in Atelier Munsteiner was doubtlessly a decisive factor in encouraging her to work to an increasing degree also as a shaper of precious stones. Jutta Munsteiner attempts in a very sensitive manner to explore very cautiously the feelings which jewellery could provoke in the sophisticated customer who lives in the present. Women of today and the future no longer want to use jewellery to show what they have, but who they are. In other words: jewellery as an object of possession, as a status symbol is “out”. This means it must contribute more strongly towards expressing the inner character of a woman. As a result, however, jewellery also challenges a woman to recognize herself.

more about Jutta Munsteiner

Bracelet Magic Eye

TOM MUNSTEINER

Crystals, the reflecting play of light in its inherent structures, are fascinating testimonies of nature to Tom Munsteiner, which lead him to a formal expression in the cut which is incomparably rich in variation. The crystal is not just dead stone to him; the crystal, which looks at him through its reflection of light as it were, leads an independent existence at the threshold between inanimate and animated nature like something organic. This is the reason why Tom Munsteiner combines clean cuts in the material, geometric figures, such as prisms and circles, testimonies of an internal constructivist architecture of the stone, with spherical, organically soft round forms.

more about Tom Munsteiner

GEMSTONES

PUBLICATIONS

THE YOUNG GENERATION

In the mid – 1970s Bernd Munsteiner began to revolutionize the design of gemstones with the radical rejection of the world renowned brilliant cut. For him, the aesthetic quality of the crystals was a rediscovery and the cornerstone of his worldwide success. Munsteiner used his ideas to lead the gemstone toward the art of the 20th century. His works are represented in numerous museums worldwide. Since 1997, his son Tom and his daughter-in-law Jutta continue the studio in Stipshausen near Idar-Oberstein. Over the past 15 years, “The Young Generation”, based on Bernd Munsteiner’s work, has developed its own characteristic form language that places the virtual interior of the cut crystal at the center of aesthetic reflection. Tom Munsteiner is a gemstone designer, while Jutta Munsteiner jewelry and gemstone designer as well as goldsmith master. The richly illustrated book provides a complete overview of the artistic work of Tom and Jutta Munsteiner. Not only does it give a deep insight into the crystalline worlds of gemstones, but it also shows that crystals have lost none of their millennia-old fascination as an artistic material.

Not only does it give a deep insight into the crystalline worlds of gemstones, but it also shows that crystals have lost none of their millennia-old fascination as an artistic material. Order Details

REFLEXIONEN IN STEIN

The fascinating art of gemstone cutting was once brought from the Idar-Oberstein region to all around the world. And right from this region, the gemstone cutter Bernd Munsteiner revolutionized gemstone cutting. In the 1960s he became the first contemporary artist to put the aesthetic qualities of the naturally grown mineral mineral in the center of his sculptural work. At first he worked with agates, and later on with transparent gems that he turned into pictures, sculptures or jewelery. His concern was not to perfect the superficial shine of the mineral, but to make the “inside” of a gem visible. His newly invented stone cuts “Natural Movements”, “Inside Selecting” or “Rhythm” stand for Munsteiner’s unusual handling of the gemstone. They open up to the viewer previously unknown fields of vision; magical “landscapes” in the stone that expand into projection surfaces of the

mind. In the last few years, Munsteiner’s work focuses on gemstone sculpture, which opens up completely new dimensions for the design of the gemstone. Spectacular sculptures such as those of the cycle “Metamorphosis” from an originally 580 kg rock crystal have earned Bernd Munsteiner an international reputation as an outstanding innovator of modern gemstone cut. Order Details

BERND MUNSTEINER

Creativity: Fantasy, dimension, composition, structure, rhythm, contrasts, accents, color … I understand reliefs, gemstone cuts, jewelery and sculptures as an artistic statement of our time, an individual expression of creativity. It’s my way of speaking, of making myself understood. The Gemstone cut requires its own form of creativity, the recognition of natural forms, the crystallographic structure; Everything that exists must be perceived. This requires a special sensitivity to the matter, to the color of the minerals, their purity, their natural inclusions and structural changes in order to make visible and classify the invisible.

On this the realization of an idea in the mineral, the own mental statement, is based. Minerals and crystals, the most fascinating matter on earth, are brought out of the earth under often difficult conditions and thanks to hard work. Selected and rare transparent crystals are the basis of my work as a gemstone sander. For many years I have been traveling to Brazil to track down such crystals at their original deposits. A publication by Publicaciones Joyeras, S.A. from the year 2000. Order Details

Munsteiner(s) Zeit

Liberated from the constraints of traditional jewellery design, Bernd Munsteiner has found his own way as a kind of synthesis of the natural form of the material and modern styling. His own philosophy lies behind all his designs: the realization of an idea in mineral, in which natural forms are recognized, and whose essence is perceived and made visible. In the end, the shaped stone represents an individual intellectual statement of this magus of precious stones. His works could therefore not be better characterised than by the observation of Viktor Hugo: “Nothing in the world is as powerful as an idea.” Order Details

SCULPTURES

AWARDS AND OBJECTS

European Product Design Award 2018:
“Hashioki” – a Chopstick/Knife Rest in Citrine

The knife rest „Hashioki“ is an exclusive tabletop accessory, hand carved from a natural Quartz crystal. The name “Hashioki” is derived from the traditional Japanese chopstick rests. Its most remarkable feature is the very straightforward geometry, in contrast to the lively design inside the gem. The design may look modest at first glance, but captivates the viewer by its often-changing optical impressions, and surprising light reflections. The object measures 50 x 18 mm, and is available in variations of different gemstones, including Smoky Quartz, Rutilated Quartz and Citrine.

Grand Catalan Art Award for Bernd Munsteiner:
“The Picasso of Gems”

Great honour for Bernd Munsteiner: The gemstone designer from Stipshausen received the Grand Arts Prize of the Catalan Guild of Goldsmiths, Silversmiths, Watchmakers, Gemologists and Jewelers in Barcelona (JORGC). Stefan Conradt, Rhein-Zeitung 18.12.2017. Barcelona / Stipshausen

Firework for the senses:
Fine Design for the Spirits

An exceptional creation from the Munsteiner studio, apart from gemstone and sculpture, are these digestif glasses made of natural rock crystal, smoky quartz or citrine. A noble stone as a vessel for fine spirits – of course in a distinctive Munsteiner design – offers a very special experience for connoisseurs and collectors alike.

Vater-Gestein: New Sculpture for the Sculpture Garden

On Saturday, November 17, 2018, the sculpture was officially inaugurated by the mayor of Stipshausen, Mr. Frank Marx, the chairman of the Geißenverein, Mr. Dietmar Schumacher and by myself, in the presence of the goats, Geißenbrüder and friends. In my speech, I referred to the “unfortunate” test drill of the Brazilians, which ultimately brought us the luck to have such a beautiful amethyst quartz druse as a new object here in the sculpture park. This luck should be transferred to the entire sculpture park.
More information to this “stony” story: Vater-Gestein, Sculpture Garden Stipshausen

World’s largest cut aquamarine displayed at Smithsonian

Impressions

The Munsteiners Tom and Bernd Munsteiner have been “rocking” the world of lapidary for numerous decades, making them both visionaries in the art of extraordinary gem cutting and objets d’art! Their legendary skills and exquisite style command sophisticated collectors and colleagues worldwide to view artistically cut gems with a new perspective. Munsteiner creations are Historical – Radical – Powerful – Beautiful – Phenomenal – Influential – Provincial – Sensual – Obtainable – Collectible Gems. No significant gem collection would be considered complete without a Munsteiner!

Susan Helmich, Designer of Jewellry

Songbook As a musician I see Jutta as a singer, Tom on drums, Philipp on bass and Bernd with trombone. They play e.g.: Mantis – Context Cut – Symbolon – Green Flash – Around the World -Dom Pedro – Magic Eye Splendid…..Gorgeous!

Robert Smit, Designer of Jewellry

Fairs and Exhibitions 2021/22

GJX Tucson 2022

01.02. – 06.02.2022

Tucson/AZ, USA

Standnummer: 2101/2102

Contact

Atelier Tom Munsteiner
error: Content is protected !!

DIE KREATIVE OASE IN STIPSHAUSEN

Das im malerischen Hunsrückdorf Stipshausen gelegene Atelier ist das Zuhause und der Schaffensgrund von Tom, Jutta und Bernd Munsteiner. Erbaut im Jahr 1973, ist das Atelier seither eine Oase der Kreativität. Zusammen mit einem kleinen Team von Edelsteinschleifer- und Goldschmiedemeistern schaffen Tom und Jutta hier tagtäglich neue und spannende Designs in Stein und Schmuck. Turmalin, Aquamarin, Granat, Citrin, Amethyst, Bergkristall und viele weitere Mineralien erhalten hier ihren ganz besonderen, einzigartigen „Munsteiner-Schliff“. In der hauseigenen Goldschmiede entstehen besondere, und schon mehrfach preisgekrönte Unikate in Gelbgold, Platin und Silber. Die Kombination von Schleiferei, Goldschmiede und Ausstellungsräumen bietet Besuchern eine wunderbare Möglichkeit, einen kleinen Einblick in den Schaffensprozess vom Rohstein zum fertigen Schmuckstück zu erhalten.

UNIKATSCHMUCK

MUNSTEINER FEELING

Bernd, Jutta und Tom Munsteiner

BERND MUNSTEINER

Seit mehr als vierzig Jahren schleift Bernd Munsteiner insbesondere transparente Steine zu Bildern, Objekten und Skulpturen. Sie erschließen dem Betrachter den Blick in magische Landschaften im Innern des Kristalls, erweitern seine inneren und äußeren Sehräume zu Projektionsflächen des Psychischen. Munsteiner führt mit seinem Werk die Edelsteinskulptur an die künstlerischen Debatten des 20. Jahrhunderts heran, ohne die archaischen Schichten in der Beziehung des Menschen zum Stein und zum Edelstein im Besonderen zu negieren Munsteiners Edelsteinskulpturen entziehen sich eo ipso sowohl einer auf performative Ergeignishaftigkeit ausgerichtete Darstellungskultur als auch der Rezeption im Vorbeigehen. Andererseits ragen sie – trotz ihrer relativ geringen räumliche Ausdehnung – als monumentale Symbole des Ewigen in unsere flüchtige Lebenszeit hinein.

JUTTA MUNSTEINER

Zwar hatte Jutta Munsteiner zunächst ihren Schaffensschwerpunkt im Schmuck. Die intensive Zusammenarbeit im Atelier Munsteiner hat sie sicher entscheidend dazu animiert, in zunehmendem Maße auch als Edelsteingestalterin zu arbeiten. Jutta Munsteiner versucht auf sehr feinfühlige Weise, sehr behutsam zu ergründen, welches Gefühl Schmuck an einer anspruchsvollen, in der Zeit lebenden Kundin auslösen könnte. Die Frau der Gegenwart und Zukunft will mit Schmuck nicht mehr zeigen was sie hat, sondern wer sie ist. Mit anderen Worten: Schmuck als Besitzobjekt, als Statussymbol ist „out“. Das bedeutet, er muss stärker zum Ausdruck des inneren Wesens einer Frau beitragen. Somit wird Schmuck aber auch eine Herausforderung, sich selbst zu erkennen.

Armband Magic Eye

TOM MUNSTEINER

Kristalle, das reflektierende Spiel des Lichts in seinen naturgegebenen Strukturen, sind Tom Munsteiner faszinierende Zeugnisse der Natur, die ihn zu einer unvergleichlich variationsreichen Formensprache im Schliff führen. Für ihn ist der Kristall nicht einfach totes Gestein; der Kristall, der ihn gleichsam durch seinen Lichtreflex anblickt, führt wie etwas Organisches ein Eigenleben an der Schwelle zwischen unbelebter und belebter Natur. Deshalb verbindet Tom Munsteiner klare Einschnitte in das Material, geometrische Figuren wie Prismen und Kreise, Zeugnisse einer inneren konstruktivistischen Architektur des Steins mit kugeligen, organisch-weichen Rundformen.

SCHMUCKSTEINE

PUBLIKATIONEN

THE YOUNG GENERATION

Mit der radikalen Absage an den weltweit verbreiteten Brillantschliff begann Bernd Munsteiner Mitte der 1970er Jahre die Gestaltung von Edelsteinen zu revolutionieren. Für ihn war die ästhetische Qualität der Kristalle eine Wiederentdeckung und der Grundstein für seinen weltweiten Erfolg. Munsteiner führte mit seinen Ideen den Edelstein an die Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts heran. Mit seinen Werken ist er in zahlreichen Museen weltweit vertreten. Seit 1997 führen sein Sohn Tom und die Schwiegertochter Jutta das Atelier in Stipshausen bei Idar-Oberstein weiter. In den zurückliegenden 15 Jahren hat „The Young Generation“ auf der Basis des Werks von Bernd Munsteiner eine eigene, sehr charakteristische Formensprache entwickelt, die den virtuellen Innenraum des geschliffenen Kristalls in das Zentrum der ästhetischen Reflexion rückt. Tom Munsteiner ist Edelsteingestalter, Jutta Munsteiner Schmuck- und Edelsteingestalterin sowie Goldschmiedemeisterin. Das reich bebilderte Buch vermittelt einen vollständigen Überblick über das künstlerische Schaffen von Tom und Jutta Munsteiner. Es gibt nicht nur einen tiefen Einblick in die kristallinen Welten der Edelsteine,

sondern zeigt, dass Kristalle als künstlerischer Werkstoff nichts von ihrer Jahrtausende alten Faszination verloren haben.

REFLEXIONEN IN STEIN

Die faszinierende Kunst des Edelsteinschliffs wurde einst aus der Region um Idar-Oberstein in die ganze Welt getragen. Der Steinschleifer Bernd Munsteiner revolutionierte von ebendort aus den Edelsteinschliff grundlegend. Als erster zeitgenössischer Künstler begann er in den 1960er Jahren, die ästhetischen Qualitäten des natürlich gewachsenen Minerals in den Mittelpunkt seiner bildhauerischen Arbeit zu stellen. Zunächst sind es Achate, später transparente Edelsteine, die zu Bildern, Skulpturen oder Schmuck werden. Sein Anliegen war es, nicht den oberflächlichen Glanz des Minerals zu perfektionieren, sondern das „Innere“ eines Edelsteins sichtbar zu machen. Seine neu erfundenen Steinschliffe „Natural Movements“, „Inside Selecting“ oder „Rhythmus“ stehen für Munsteiners ungewöhnlichen Umgang mit dem Edelstein. Sie erschließen dem Betrachter bislang unbekannte Sehräume; magische „Landschaften“ im Stein, die sich zu Projektionsflächen des Psychischen erweitern. In den letzten Jahren steht in Munsteiners Schaffen die Edelstein-Plastik im Vordergrund, die der

Edelsteingestaltung völlig neue Dimensionen erschließt. Spektakuläre Skulpturen wie die des Zyklus „Metamorphose“ aus einem ursprünglich 580 kg schweren Bergkristall haben Bernd Munsteiner einen internationalen Ruf als herausragender Neuerer des modernen Edelsteinschliffs eingebracht.

BERND MUNSTEINER

Kreativität: Fantasie, Dimension, Komposition, Gliederung, Rhythmus, Kontraste, Akzente, Farbe…Reliefs, Edelsteinschliffe, Schmuck und Skulpturen verstehe ich als künstlerische Aussage unserer Zeit, eine individuelle Äußerung von Kreativität. Es ist meine Art zu sprechen, mich verständlich zu machen. Der Edelsteinschliff erfordert eine eigene Form von Kreativität, das Erkennen von Naturformen, des kristallografischen Aufbaus; alles, was vorhanden ist, muss wahrgenommen werden. Dies erfordert eine besondere Sensibilität für die Materie, für die Farbe der Mineralien, ihre Reinheit, ihre natürlichen Einschlüsse und Strukturveränderungen, um das Unsichtbare sichtbar werden zu lassen und einzuordnen.

Darauf basiert die Verwirklichung einer Idee im Mineral, die eigene geistige Aussage. Mineralien und Kristalle, die faszinierendste Materie unserer Erde, werden unter oft schwierigen Bedingungen und dank harter Arbeit aus unserer Erde ans Licht der Sonne gebracht. Ausgesuchte und seltene durchsichtige Kristalle sind die Grundlage meiner Arbeit als Edelsteinschleifer. Seit vielen Jahren fahre ich einmal nach Brasilien, um solche Kristalle an ihren ursprünglichen Lagerstätten aufzuspüren.

Munsteiner(s) Zeit

Von den Zwängen der traditionellen Schmuckgestaltung befreit, hat Bernd Munsteiner einen eigenen Weg als eine Art Synthese zwischen Naturformen des Materials und der modernen Formgebung gefunden. Hinter all seinen Gestaltungen steckt eine eigene Philosophie: die Verwirklichung einer Idee im Mineral, in dem Naturformen erkannt werden, alles was vorhanden ist, wahrgenommen und sichtbar gemacht wird. Der gestaltete Stein repräsentiert am Ende eine eigene geistige Aussage dieses Magiers der Edelsteine. Seine Werke können daher nicht besser charakterisiert werden, als durch den Ausspruch von Viktor Hugo: „Nichts auf der Welt ist so mächtig wie eine Idee.“

SKULPTUREN

AWARDS UND OBJEKTE

European Product Design Award 2018:
“Hashioki” – a Chopstick/Knife Rest in Citrine

Das Messerbänkchen “Hashioki” ist ein ganz besonderes Tisch-Accessoire, handgeschliffen aus einem natürlichen Citrin. Der Name „Hashioki“ leitet sich ab von den traditionellen japanischen Essstäbchen-Haltern. Es zeichnet sich durch seine geometrische Gradlinigkeit aus. Im Gegensatz dazu wird das Innere mit wenigen Einschnitten belebt. Trotz seiner vordergründigen Schlichtheit fasziniert „Hashioki“ durch sich ständig wandelnde optische Eindrücke, und überraschende Lichtreflexionen. Das Objekt misst 50 x 18 mm. Es ist in verschiedenen Edelstein-Arten wie Rauchquarz, Bergkristall mit Rutil und Citrin verfügbar.

Großer Katalanischer Kunstpreis für Bernd Munsteiner:
“der Picasso der Edelsteine.”

Große Ehre für Bernd Munsteiner: Der Edelsteindesigner aus Stipshausen erhielt in Barcelona den Großen Kunstpreis der katalanischen Gilde der Gold- und Silberschmiede, Uhrmacher, Gemmologen und Juweliere (JORGC). Stefan Conradt, Rhein-Zeitung 18.12.2017. Barcelona/Stipshausen

Feuerwerk der
Sinne:
Edles Design für
den
edlen Tropfen

Eine außergewöhnliche Kreation aus dem Hause Munsteiner, abseits von Schmuckstein und Skulptur, sind diese Digestif-Gläser aus natürlichem Bergkristall, Rauchquarz oder auch Citrin. Durch kreative und sensible Bearbeitung werden aussagekräftige Designaspekte reduziert dargestellt. Ein edler Stein als Gefäß für edle Tropfen – natürlich in markantem Munsteiner-Design – bietet ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis für Genießer und Sammler gleichermaßen.

Vater-Gestein: Neue Skulptur im Skulpturenpark

Am Samstag, den 17. November 2018 wurde die Skulptur Vater-Gestein durch den Ortsbürgermeister von Stipshausen, Herrn Frank Marx, den Vorsitzenden des Geißenvereins, Herrn Dietmar Schumacher sowie durch meine Wenigkeit, in Anwesenheit der Geißen, Geißenbrüder und Freunde offiziell eingeweiht. In meiner Ansprache nahm ich Bezug auf die „unglückliche“ Fehlbohrung der Brasilianer, die uns im Endeffekt das Glück bescherte, solch eine schöne Amethystquarz-Druse als neues Objekt hier im Skulpturenpark zu haben. Dieses Glück soll auf den gesamten Skulpturenpark übergehen. Hier erfahrt ihr mehr zu dieser “steinigen” Geschichte: Vater-Gestein

World’s largest cut aquamarine displayed at Smithsonian

Atelier Tom Munsteiner

Impressionen

The Munsteiners Tom and Bernd Munsteiner have been “rocking” the world of lapidary for numerous decades, making them both visionaries in the art of extraordinary gem cutting and objets d’art! Their legendary skills and exquisite style command sophisticated collectors and colleagues worldwide to view artistically cut gems with a new perspective. Munsteiner creations are Historical – Radical – Powerful – Beautiful – Phenomenal – Influential – Provincial – Sensual – Obtainable – Collectible Gems. No significant gem collection would be considered complete without a Munsteiner!

 

Susan Helmich, Designer of Jewellry

Songbook: As a musician I see Jutta as a singer, Tom on drums, Philipp on bass and Bernd with trombone. They play e.g.: Mantis – Context Cut – Symbolon – Green Flash – Around the World -Dom Pedro – Magic Eye Splendid…..Gorgeous!

Robert Smit, Designer of Jewellry

Messen und Ausstellungen 2020/21

Wir freuen uns sehr darüber, dieses Jahr mit vielen Neuheiten auf der Intergem-Messe in Idar-Oberstein vertreten zu sein!
Die Messe findet statt vom 24. bis zum 27. September, und unser Messestand: Halle 2, Stand 107.
Anmeldung und Ticketkauf sind vorab über die Website der Messe (https://intergem.de/) möglich.

Kontakt

Atelier Munsteiner
error: Der Inhalt ist geschützt !!